Lots of Words

Proverbs 10:19 says, “When there are many words, transgression is unavoidable, But he who restrains his lips is wise.”

I recently had a chance to read some old stuff that I had written in high school – papers, and letters mostly. I understand that I have grown and matured (at least some) since then, but one thing jumped out at me as I re-read my words – I sure used lots of ’em! It’s quite telling to see what Brandon as a 16-year old had to say. Three consistent traits appeared in the midst of my wordier ramblings: a judgmental pride, a blaring self-righteousness, and a gossipy tongue. I can see remnants of these in my life today, but by God’s grace He’s been transforming my character.

I think the principle in Proverbs 10:19 challenges me to measure my words carefully, whether in speaking, letter-writing, blogging. Even fleshly traits aside, it’s clear that 10 well-placed words (drawn out of a resevoir of communion with God) will always have more impact that 100 shoot-from-the-hip, unchecked, ungodly words.

A healthy diet of listening to Spirit, digesting the Word, and abiding in Christ is the Immodium AD for diarrhea of the mouth. I want to grow in wisdom, and that very well may begin by restraining my lips.

2 thoughts on “Lots of Words

  1. “A healthy diet of listening to Spirit, digesting the Word, and abiding in Christ is the Immodium AD for diarrhea of the mouth.” Hahahhaaaaa!!! I love how you put that but it is SO TRUE!! Thanks for making me laugh today Brandon! How’re you liking CO so far?? Where are you anyway? (you can email me if you’d like, mister)An update to my last blog will certainly come soon – lots going on!

  2. Ok, dude… update’s done. Sorry it took so long – I’ve been insanely busy, what with driving to Boulder every single day until I can hire and train someone new for this office and housesitting in Brighton (north of DIA) – I just can’t catch a breath at the moment. However, it will mostly settle down next week – whew!!

Leave a Reply

