Planted by Streams of Water

I’ve been thirsty before. I remember the first major hike I endeavored. It was an all-day hike across Rocky Mountain National Park while I was in high school. I was in awe at the breathtaking vistas as well as the curious wildlife we saw along the way. If I had the ability to go back in time, I would have done it again. It was absolutely worth it. However, I would have changed one thing.

By the time the hike was over, I was more than parched. By all indications I was severely dehydrated. Perhaps my throbbing headache was partially from the altitude. But the previous day and early that morning, I had not consumed much water at all. I had denied my body the fluid it needed in order to handle the outdoor excursion.

I find myself gravitating toward Psalm 1 on occassion. The man who delights in the law of God is “like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither.”

Today I’m thirsty. And I can’t continue my trek without first drinking from God’s Word. There’s so much that I try to take on with my own strength. But it is so obvious that I will fail if I try to hike one more step without satisfying my soul’s thirst first.

Leave a Reply

