The Privilege of Knowing Him

I love “discovering” gems of truth in Scripture that I somehow skimmed over in the past. I don’t know how many times I’ve read through the “Love Chapter” in 1 Corinthians, but I know that until this most recent time, I have missed a glimpse of God’s character that I never saw before.

As Paul is concluding this portion of his letter, he discusses how spiritual gifts will one day come to an end, and how prophecy gives us, really, an incomplete picture of the Father’s heart.
Then he briefly touches on what it will be like when we no longer need these gifts: “For now we see indistinctly, as in a mirror, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know fully, as I am fully known.” I Cor 13:12

That last phrase causes me to stir with awe. Let’s work backwards through it.
“…as I am fully known.” Right now God knows us inside and out, and cannot know us more deeply and intimately than He does at this moment – warts, wrinkles, and all. He is fully aware of our shortcomings and our victories, our idiosyncrasies and our quirks.

Paul says in the phrase just prior, “…but then I will know fully…” When we are face to face with our Creator, He will give us the privilege of fully knowing Him in the same manner He knows us now. I am blown away that the God of the Universe, the Maker of all things, will allow us to have that kind of full access to Him. When we are made perfect, when we go to Heaven to be with Him, He will somehow give us the green light to know and grasp Someone infinite. Here on earth now, in our very best groping in the dark, we might, somehow reach out and feel His little toe. But our minds are so finite, so small, so feeble, that knowlege of the Holy seems to be an impossibility. And, for now, it really is.

When that day comes that He ushers us home to sit at His throne, somehow, someway, He will make it possible for the created to understand the Creator. What a holy and astounding blessing that will be!

Leave a Reply

